Sharing the Faith

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Sharing the Faith

Post  0001 on 2/4/2010, 00:07

This is a big question for me. Overall I'm very new to being a guy with a massive faith. And any of you others like me know that one of the biggest things we want to do once we have reached this stage, is share it with others. But exactly how do we do this, and what is the best way to do it?

Recently I've had the opportunity to share the faith with many individuals, but because I don't really know what I'm doing, it's been rough. I've had some successes, and a massive failure. I will admit right off that it was my fault, I fell to the level of direct personal attacks, and that was wrong. All I did was create conflict, and destroyed whatever gains had been there in the first place. So it's obvious being confrontational is not the answer, nor is just outright preaching.

So exactly what is the best and most effective way to share God's good news?

"Don't use foul or abusive language. Let everything you say be good and helpful, so that your words will be an encouragement to those who hear them." -Ephesians 4:29, NLT
Executive Director

Executive Director
Sector 2

Central Command

Back to top Go down

Re: Sharing the Faith

Post  Sgt Angry Egg on 2/4/2010, 14:58

There's nothing people hate more than missionaries. I don't know about you, but it's the most annoying thing in the world to me when I have to get up from watching TV to listen to some stupid Mormon or Jehovah's Witness talk about how wonderful their particular flavor of Christianity is, and then lie about how I will read the scripture they highlighted for me in their specific addition to the Bible.